Penpal letter

Look at the penpal letter then do the exercises to help you practise writing in English.


  • Do the preparation activity to help you with words from the text.
  • Read the text then play the game to check your understanding.
  • You can also print the worksheets for more practice.
  • Remember to read our discussion question and leave a comment!


Do you like the same things as Juan? What languages do you speak?

Average: 4.4 (11 votes)

Submitted by SillyWooden999 on Sun, 18/12/2022 - 04:29


The same things that I like are listen to music, music makes me feel happy in bad days or boring days. When I explore some new interesting songs, I always feel so good. My family pet a kitty its name is Sarung. Language I always speak is Thai, It is my native language. English is the language that I have learned for long time but I do not always speak.

Submitted by VirtualMoonstone8 on Thu, 19/05/2022 - 04:08

Juan likes football, beach volleyball and music, and so do I. I speak English and Vietnamese. I would like to learn Chinese with my teacher Mickey in the future.

Submitted by PurpleSandalCheese on Thu, 02/12/2021 - 06:27

Hi everyone, My name is Grace. I am from Malaysia and I am 9 years old. I've got black hair and black eyes. I've got one big sister. I've got no pets. I like playing computer games and watch movies. I usually read comic books in my free time and my favorite subjects are Math and PE. I speak Chinese and English. It's summer in Malaysia now so the weather here is hot and sunny. Please write soon. Best wishes, PurpleSandalCheese

Submitted by EatingSnowdrop10 on Sat, 29/04/2023 - 15:06

In reply to by PurpleSandalCheese


Hi Grace, My name is Laisa. I am from Russia and I am 10 years old. I have got black hair and black eyes too. I Have got one sister. I have got dog called Crosh and parrot Coco. I like playing the piano and draw the picture. I speak Russian and English. It summer in St. Petersburg but windy and cold. Please write soon. Best wishes, Laisa

Submitted by QueenActressMisty on Tue, 02/11/2021 - 12:53

Hi! My name is Natalie,i'm from VietNam. I'm 9 years old. I have long hairs and black eyes. I like play badminton. I always play piano, i love music. My favorite subjects is Literature. I like spring. I speak Vitnamese and english. Write soon Best wishes Natalie.

Submitted by GoldLavenderJewel on Tue, 12/10/2021 - 06:42

Hi,I am Alisha. How are you guys?I am from bangladesh . I have short black hair and dark brown eyes, I am tall. I am 8 years old . I have a brother ,he is older than me.I wish I would have a fish as my pet.I can speak in bangla (the language which bangladesh people speak in)and english very well.It is late autumn in my country.I like to read books.

Submitted by CheekyPlatinum100 on Mon, 23/08/2021 - 12:14

Hi guys ! My name is Mia and I'm 8 years old. With my family, I live in Germany but my mom is from China. So I can speak Chinese, German and some English. At the moment I have no pets but we're gonna move to New Zealand or Thailand, and once there my dad will buy me a horse and two Cats! I'm so excited! Bye guys!

Submitted by MissBikePiano on Sat, 21/08/2021 - 07:16

Hello everyone I am name is Eva , you can call me Evosh i am 8 years old , i dont have any pets because my dad did not like any animal live in we home . but in near futchr i will have small fish multicolored .. i live with dady and mom and sisters , brothers We in the saudi arabia , i am talk arabic language and i study English now i hope have anuther languge in the future all profesonal

Submitted by CuteVioletJungle on Tue, 03/08/2021 - 17:21

Hello again, I live in Alicante and I am on vacation. Are you on vacation or are you in your city? Do you like the beach? Do you like going to school? I like it because I study new things and I play with my friends. I speak English and Spanish. Do you speak English and another language? I have a dog named Peter. Do you have any pets? I hope to hear from you soon. Best wishes. bye-bye! Patri

Submitted by OrangeOrange4 on Thu, 22/07/2021 - 04:15

Hi, My name is Annie, and I'm from Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam. I'm 10 years old and I'm 1m34. I'm have black hair and brown eyes. I don't have any sister or brother. I have 3 dogs. I like playing hide and seek, playing with my dogs and I like swimming at the beach, too. My favorite subject is Art. I can speak Vietnamese, English and a little bit Chinese. It summer in Vietnam so the weather is hot and sunny. Pls Write Soon Best Wishes Annie

Submitted by WowLakeMoonlight on Fri, 23/07/2021 - 16:03

In reply to by OrangeOrange4

Hi, whoever reads this I AM GAMER! GAMING!!!!!!

Submitted by QueenRabbitDove on Sun, 10/09/2023 - 14:50

In reply to by OrangeOrange4



Submitted by MissRedRaspberry on Sat, 17/07/2021 - 08:32

Hi everyone, My name is Suzy. I am from Vietnam and I am 9 years old. I am 1m32. I've got black hair and blue eyes. I've got two sisters. I've got no pets. I like playing badminton and basket ball. I usually read comic books in my free time and my favorite subjects are English and Art. I speak Vietnamese and English. It's summer in Vietnam now so the weather here is hot and sunny. Please write soon. Best wishes, SuzyRainbowUnicorn

Submitted by CaptainMesozoi… on Fri, 25/06/2021 - 10:07

Hi! My name is CaptainMesozoicVanilla and i am 11 years old. I am from Poland. I have brown hair and brown eyes. I like dinozaurs, football, books, Harry Potter, Star Wars and jumping on trampoline. I speak in polish and english. My favourite pizza is margherita (with sauce and cheese)

Submitted by CuteVioletJungle on Tue, 15/06/2021 - 16:54

Hello guys, How are you? My name is Patricia, I am from Madrid and I am 9 years old. How old are you? I am short, I have long, curly, blond hair. I have only one brother . I've got one dog called Peter. Have you got any pets? I like volleyball and gymnast. what do you like? I speak Spanish. the language in Madrid, and English. What le languages do you speak? It's sunny and hot in Madrid. What's the weather like where you live? Write soon Best wishes Patri

Submitted by AgentGirl8 on Tue, 04/05/2021 - 15:14

Hi, I'm AgentGirl8 (I can't say my real name), I'm from Viet Nam and I'm 12 years old. I'm 1m56 tall (about 5ft 1in). I've got black hair and brown eyes. I have got a half-sister. I've got no pets (well my family hates pets ...). I like playing badminton and chess. I usually read books in my free time and my favourite subjects are Maths and English. I speak Vietnamese and English. It's summer in Viet Nam now so the weather here is hot and sunny. pls write soon, Best wishes, AgentGirl8

Submitted by MissFairy50 on Fri, 05/03/2021 - 13:02

Hi, I am Aye Chan Moe. You can also call me Miss Fairy 50 or Rachel. I am 9 years old. I am from Myanmar. I am kinda tall, have a brownish hair colour and brown eyes. I have 2 cousin sisters and 1 cousin brother. I speak Burmese(A language in Myanmar) ,English, Japanese and Spanish. I have 9 pet fishes and My mom said She is going to buy me a dog at the end of this month. I am thinking of a name to name the dog. Can you help me by describing names and I really appreciate if you describe a name for the dog. My hobby is making crafts and I love creating. After this I am doing a lantern for my brother. He said he loves lanterns and to make him a one which has football pictures on it. He loves football. It's very hot in Myanmar. Please write me back soon. Best Regards, From your penpal- Aye Chan Moe From your penpal-Aye Chan Moe

Submitted by LuckyPaper1000 on Thu, 21/01/2021 - 12:57

Hi Vladimir, How are you? My name is Lucky and I am from Pantin, France. I am 10 years old. How old are you? I have green eyes, I have blonde hair and I have very big muscles. What colour are your eyes? What do you look like? I got a beautiful watch for Christmas. It is one of my favourite things. What is your favourite thing? I like nerf guns. In fact, I have a big collection of nerf guns. I have 15 nerf guns. I like to play Nerf wars. Do you know Nerf guns? In France, it is very cold because it is winter. What is the weather like in Russia? I hope to talk to you soon. Best, Luckypaper1000

Submitted by FabulousCrystal800 on Mon, 18/01/2021 - 08:54

Hello friends I am 8 years old I live in Lithuania. I am tall about 1 meter and 47 centimeters. I like to play basketball and on the computer. I have a hamster named siuze her fur is brown color.

Submitted by LadyLuteCat on Thu, 07/01/2021 - 08:54

I have a baby Persian cat. its name is Michael. Its hair is gray-blue. My cat is very cute. I love my cat.

English courses for children aged 6-17

Learn more

Sign up to our newsletter for free learning tips and resources

We will process your data to send you our newsletter and updates based on your consent. You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the "unsubscribe" link at the bottom of every email. Read our privacy policy for more information.